



MEDIA RELEASE

15 June 2017

Finalists announced for WA Mental Health Awards 2017

FINALISTS have been selected for the Western Australian Mental Health Awards after a staggering 150 nominations across eight diverse categories were received as part of the WA Mental Health Conference and Awards taking place on 13-14 July.

Winners will be announced at a special Awards Gala Dinner on 13 July, and all finalists will receive two free tickets to attend the awards ceremony and a certificate.

The awards aim to recognise and reward the achievements of those who demonstrate initiatives in supporting consumers of mental health services, their families, carers; inspiring others and promoting positive mental health.

Judging was determined through an independent process, which relied on selection panels made up of broad representation, including people with lived experience of mental health issues helping judge every category. Judges were appointed to score all nominees based on selection criteria to determine three finalists and a winner across all categories.

Western Australian Association for Mental Health CEO Rod Astbury said the Awards Ceremony was one of the biggest inclusions in the conference program this year and highlights innovation and excellence in mental health practice.

"The independent judging panels had hard decisions to make following a rigorous selection process to determine the Awards finalists and winners," Mr Astbury said. "The calibre or nominations was very impressive and demonstrated the positive work being done in the WA community, workplaces and the mental health sector."

"We see the award finalists as a representation of the diverse experience, skills and qualities of people and organisations in WA when it comes to recovery-oriented and best practice mental health care and support."

The WA Mental Health Award finalists are as follows:

The Mental Health News Media Award Katie Hampson, Health + Medicine, The West Australian

Amanda Keenan, The West Australian

Peta Rasdien, Health + Medicine, The West Australian

The Impact & Inspiration Award presented by Neami National Corina McSwan

Royce Hardman

Margaret Doherty

Peak body representing the community-based mental health sector in WA. Level 1, 1 Nash Street, Perth WA 6000 • T: (61) 08 6246 3000
• E: <u>info@waamh.org.au</u> • W: <u>waamh.org.au</u> • ABN: 15 165 640 637







The Wellbeing Award presented by Wanslea Family Services

Mother-Baby Nurture

Hearing Voices Network of WA

MATES in Construction WA

The Diversity Award presented by Lifeline WA

St Patrick's Community Support Centre

St John of God Social Outreach - Youth Support Outreach Program

Mentally Healthy WA

The Innovation Award presented by WAPHA

OCD? Not Me! Curtin University

Perth Voices Clinic

ConnectGroups Support Groups Association WA (Inc.)

The Mental Health Employee Excellence Award presented HESTA

Amy Wallace, Physical Health Care Acting Clinical Nurse at WA North Metro Health Service

Andrew Miller, Senior Occupational Therapist at Graylands Hospital

Warwick Smith, Director of Youth Mental Health at North Metropolitan Health Service

The Mentally Healthy Workplace Award presented by Recovery College of WA

Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES)

Department of Commerce, Western Australia

Department of Fisheries, Western Australia

The Family Centred Care Award presented by Helping Minds

MIFWA Carers Well Ways Program

Families4FamiliesWA

Rockingham Peel Group – Mental Health Service

More information

The conference is being hosted by the Western Australian Association for Mental Health (WAAMH), with the support of the Mental Health Commission, at the Perth Concert Hall on 13-14 July.

At the conference, an impressive line-up of international and national mental health experts and guest keynote speakers, will also be joined by much-loved Australian comedians Mikey Robins performing live comedy, and Master of Ceremonies Peter Rowsthorn.

> Peak body representing the community-based mental health sector in WA. Level 1, 1 Nash Street, Perth WA 6000 • T: (61) 08 6246 3000 • E: info@waamh.org.au • W: waamh.org.au • ABN: 15 165 640 637







Keynote speakers include US-based Dr Mark Salzer, UK-based Professor Peter Beresford, Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Gallop, Jackie Crowe, and Paul O'Halloran.

Register or find out more about the conference at: waamh.org.au/conference

To discover more about the WA Mental Health Awards criteria, visit: <u>http://waamh.org.au/awards</u>

Media Pass

For a media pass to the conference and / or awards ceremony, or to organise any interviews with our speakers, please contact WAAMH Public Relations Manager Brooke Johns at <u>BJohns@waamh.org.au</u> or call 08 6246 3000.

Media Contacts

Rod Astbury Chief Executive Officer WA Association for Mental Health 08 6246 3000 RAstbury@waamh.org.au Brooke Johns Public Relations Manager WA Association for Mental Health 08 6246 3012 BJohns@waamh.org.au

Peak body representing the community-based mental health sector in WA. Level 1, 1 Nash Street, Perth WA 6000 • T: (61) 08 6246 3000
• E: <u>info@waamh.org.au</u> • W: <u>waamh.org.au</u> • ABN: 15 165 640 637

